Awards and Honors

RCC Grad named PPA Certified Professional Photographer


Sarah Mitchell, owner of Sarah Lynn Studios, has earned the prestigious title of Certified Professional Photographer from Professional Photographers of America. According to PPA, “the Certified Professional Photographer (CPP) credential serves to identify professional photographers who have demonstrated technical competence through a written examination and photographic image submission.”

In 2016, Sarah earned her degree in Photographic Technology, Portrait Studio Management. Sarah’s studio, based in Rockwell, NC, serves clients in the counties of Cabarrus, Davidson, Rowan and North Mecklenberg.


RCC Grad selected for Eddie Adams

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 9.41.19 AM

2016 Photojournalism graduate Allison Isley has been selected to attend the 2017 Eddie Adams Workshop. Only 100 students or graduates with less than 3 years experience are selected each year to attend the tuition free, intense 4 day workshop – – Congrats Allison!


Gary Hobson rests his head on his girlfriend Carson Swisher’s shoulder as they slow dance during Tim Tebow’s Night to Shine Prom on Friday, Feb. 10, 2017 at First Christian Church Ministries in Kernersville, N.C. The prom’s focus is for people with special needs and is put on by the Tim Tebow Foundation. (photo by Allison Lee Isley)

NCPPA Student Photographer of the Year


Click to Watch her Winning Portfolio

2016 Photojournalism graduate Allison Lee Isley won the Student Photographer of the Year award at the annual North Carolina Press Photographer’s Association meeting. Allison’s portfolio included images she made for class assignments, her internships and her first job. Allison is now a staff photographer at the Winston-Salem Journal.

2016 RCC Photography Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to the 2016

RCC Photography Scholarship Winners

Scholarship: Robert A. Heist Endowed Scholarship

Awarded To: Katherine Parker

Established by: Family & associates of Robert A. Heist

Criteria for Selection: Second-year Photographic Technology student 3.0 GPA or higher Recipient should demonstrate “good citizenship” in the department.


Scholarship: John, Kimberly, and Jennifer Hendrick Memorial Scholarship

Awarded To: Eden Holt

Established by: Cathy Hendrick

Criteria for Selection: Academic success and the scholarship candidates’ tendency to behave in a Godly manner, as evidenced by factors such as helping others, applying oneself, desiring to learn, a person of integrity.


Scholarship: W. W. & Sue Howell

Awarded To: Kimberly Lewis

Established by: W.W. & Sue Howell

Criteria for Selection: Second-year Photographic Technology student 2.5 GPA


Scholarship: Kodak Professional Imaging

Awarded To:  Carol Boone

Established by: Eastman Kodak Company

Criteria for Selection: Second year Photographic Technology student

Award to best all around photography student based on GPA, photo course work, portfolio review, creative and technical ability, initiative, extracurricular activities, communications ability, leadership ability, and faculty recommendations.


Scholarship: Mello-Yello

Awarded To: Tyler Brock

Established by: Gossage McFarland Sports Marketing

Criteria for Selection: Second-year photojournalism student Recipient selected by photojournalism instructor(s) based upon student performance; chosen after start of fall semester.


Scholarship: PMA Dixie Division Inc. in honor of Nelson Strawbridge

Awarded To: Katlyn Loflin

Established by: PMA Dixie Division

Criteria for Selection: Second-year Photographic Technology student based academic performance and departmental citizenship; financial need is an important consideration.


Scholarship: Jim Alexander Memorial Scholarship

Awarded To: Valerie Spencer and Kristi Craven

Established by: Ruth and William Alexander

Criteria for Selection: Photographic Technology student


Scholarship: Photo Alumni Associate of RTI

Awarded To: Brinsley Edwards

Established by: PAARTI

Criteria for Selection: Photographic Technology student


Scholarship: Bryan Carden Memorial Scholarship

Awarded To: Jaime Robles

Established by: Family and Friends of Bryan Carden

Criteria for Selection: Photographic Technology student


Scholarship: Jerry Howell Memorial Scholarship

Awarded To: Jaime Robles

Established by: Family and Friends of Jerry Howell

Criteria for Selection: Photographic Technology student